WO - Container

Top Header

News Details

Adam J. Holland


Twenty-three Bulldogs have been honored as members of the 2023 8-5A All-District Football team, and Head Coach Kevin Berneathy is the district’s Coach of the Year after leading the team to its first district title since 2016.  

La Porte’s accolades include four district superlatives. 

The 2023 Bulldogs suffered only one loss in district play while playing their home games in Barbers Hill ISD’s Eagle Stadium. Along the way, Berneathy was honored as the Houston Texans Coach of the Week, and Assistant Keith Whitely was named Dave Campbell’s Offensive Coordinator of the Week.  

8-5A All-District 

Tyresse Barnes – Offensive MVP 
Nathan Wolbrecht – Offensive Lineman of the Year 
Landon Kay – Special Teams Player of the Year 
Ashton Ruffin – Defensive Newcomer of the Year 

First Team 
Ricky Sandolph 
Ryker Reynolds 
Kylin Manning 
Jake Hayman 
Tyler Patrick 
Eurie Bright 
Jaylon Stough   

Second Team 
Teddy Charlery 
Eyasu Walling 
Jaylon Fisher 
Tryston Oaks 

Honorable Mention 
Caden Hisatake   
Braden Nelson 
Keenan Lawrence 
Malik King-Miller   
Gavin McEvoy 
Tayton Self 
Bransen Shanley 
Blake Stout  

Academic All-District 
Ezra Arriaga 
Landyn Cunningham 
Raymond Gibbs 
Landon Guzman 
Jake Hayman 
Micha Klinkerman 
Gavin McEvoy 
Braden Nelson 
Tyler Patrick 
Ryker Reynolds 
Ashton Ruffin 
Aiden Saenz 
Rolando Sanchez 
Ricky Sandolph 
Bransen Stanley 
Jaylon Stough 
Blake Stout 
Christopher Zupan 

Coaches in each district are responsible for nominating and voting on UIL All-District selections.