News Details

Adam Holland

La Porte ISD has been recognized by The Texas Association of School Business Officials with a 2022 Award of Merit for Purchasing Operations.

The Award of Merit was established in 2009 to recognize Texas school districts, open-enrollment charter schools, and education services centers that are committed to following professional standards in the acquisition of goods and services. 

Each year, TASBO officials review the award criteria to ensure it aligns with current best practices and reviews both new and recertification applications from organizations across the state. For 2022, only 58 recipients met the stringent criteria to qualify for the award.

“As Texas school districts face ever-increasing pressure to use funds efficiently, we’re honored to recognize the work our honorees do to streamline operations, comply with regulations, and set the standard for how to utilize taxpayer dollars,” said Tracy Ginsburg, TASBO Executive Director. “These organizations have not only demonstrated their professional purchasing operations by documenting their districts’ policies and procedures, but have also shared these best practices with colleagues throughout the state.”

Members of the district’s purchasing team were honored at an awards reception on March 2 during the 2022 TASBO annual conference.