WO - Container

Top Header

News Details

Adam Holland



La Porte ISD campuses have named their Teachers of the Year for the 2023-24 school year. Campus honorees are chosen by their peers for their ability as skilled teachers and a love of teaching and learning, among several other characteristics.

A committee of community volunteers will select the 2023-24 elementary and secondary District Teachers of the Year from the group, and district superlatives will be announced at the annual La Porte ISD Service Awards ceremony on May 18. 

Elementary Campus Teachers of the Year 
Bayshore – Emmerizza Cervantes 
College Park – Elizabeth Ulsh 
Heritage – Hilda Soniger Rodriguez Fernandez 
La Porte – Chelsea Garza 
Lomax – Michael Newman 
Jennie Reid – Deon Williams 
Leo A. Rizzuto – Jennifer Vargas 

Secondary Campus Teachers of the Year 
James H. Baker – Amy Lashley 
La Porte Jr. – Jessica Meng 
Lomax Jr. – Stephen Mabry 
The Academy – Kristin Balistreri 
La Porte H.S. – T.J. Markiewicz (Core) 
La Porte H.S. – Ashley Stewart (Non-Core) 
Secondary DAEP – Aldo Vidal