WO - Container

Top Header

News Details

Adam J. Holland

Deon Williams, a math interventionist at Jennie Reid Elementary School, and Amy Lashley, a science teacher at James H. Baker Sixth Grade Campus were named the 2023-24 District Teachers of the Year at the May 18 La Porte ISD Service Awards celebration at Bulldog Centre.

Superintendent Dr. Walter Jackson announced the honors following the recognition of all La Porte ISD Campus Teachers of the Year. The District Teachers of the Year were also presented a check for $6,000 to use as they please, four tickets to a Houston Astros game, and an Astros World Series replica ring.

Sponsors of the awards were Balfour/Achievement Products, Inc.; Thompson and Horton; AAA Flexible Pipe Cleaning; Rotary Club of La Porte; La Porte Rail and Terminal; Kuraray Poval Division; La Porte Education Foundation; Liberty Office Products; LBC Tank Terminals; Gringo's Mexican Kitchen; Vote for LPISD's Future; and the Houston Astros Foundation.

Prior to the announcement of the district Teachers of the Year, principals escorted their respective campus Teachers of the Year to the stage as brief bios on each were read.

Other elementary honorees and their respective schools are:

Bayshore Elementary - Emmerizza Cervantes 
College Park Elementary - Elizabeth Ulish 
Heritage Elementary - Soni Rodriguez-Fernandez 
La Porte Elementary - Chelsea Garza 
Lomax Elementary - Michael Newman 
Leo A. Rizzuto Elementary - Jennifer Vargas 

Other secondary honorees are:

La Porte Jr. High - Jessica Meng 
Lomax Jr. High - Stephen Mabry 
La Porte High School (Core) - TJ Markiewicz;  
La Porte High School (Non-Core) - Ashley Stewart 
The Academy of Viola DeWalt High School - Kristin Balistreri 
Secondary DAEP - Aldo Vidal 

Alyssa Ruffin, a teacher and coach at La Porte Jr. High School, was introduced as the district’s Rookie Teacher of the Year. Linda Hyde, Heritage Elementary principal and Dr. Kade Griffin, Lomax Jr. High School principal, were honored as elementary and secondary Principal of the Year, respectively.