WO - Container

Top Header

News Details

Adam J. Holland


Dr. Kade Griffin and Linda Hyde have been named as the 2022-23 La Porte ISD Principals of the Year for secondary and elementary, respectively. 

Griffin is principal of Lomax Jr. High School; Hyde is principal at Heritage Elementary School.  District administrators select honorees based on several criteria, including a multitude of attributes that contribute to staff and student success.   

“We are thrilled to honor Dr. Griffin and Mrs. Hyde as the La Porte ISD Region 4 Principal Recognition recipients,” said Deputy Superintendent Dr. Rebecca Brown. “They are dedicated leaders who work collaboratively with all staff and administrative colleagues, and they are committed to continuous improvement efforts that support student performance.”  

Region 4 ESC will honor Griffin and Hyde, among other Greater Houston principals, at a luncheon later this year.     

Dr. Kade Griffin 
Dr. Griffin graduated from Abilene Christian University in 2005 and began his teaching career in Houston ISD. He earned a master's in educational management in 2010 from Sam Houston State University and began working in Goose Creek CISD as an instructional coach the following year. He obtained his Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership from the University of Houston in 2013 and began his tenure with La Porte ISD as an assistant principal at La Porte HS the following August. He served in assistant principal and associate principal roles at the high school before being chosen to serve as the principal at Lomax Jr. High School, where he has been for the past 5 years. 

Linda Hyde  
Hyde attended the University of Texas at Austin and earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of Houston – Clear Lake. She earned her master’s degree from Lamar University. A La Porte High School graduate, Hyde has worked as an educator in La Porte ISD for her whole 27-year public school career. She has served in various instructional roles, including classroom teacher, enrichment specialist, and curriculum/media specialist. In 2020, she was promoted from assistant principal and Early Childhood Director to principal of La Porte Elementary School, before moving to Heritage Elementary School in 2022 as its principal.