WO - Container

Top Header

News Details

Adam J. Holland


La Porte ISD is one of three finalists in the 22nd annual H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards program for small districts with fewer than 10,000 students. 

The honor is designed to recognize school districts and is based on a commitment to student achievement through innovative programs, parent and community involvement, and professional development opportunities for teachers and administrators. The other two finalist districts are Angleton and Gregory-Portland ISDs. 

“We are honored to have been chosen as an H-E-B finalist district,” said Superintendent Dr. Walter Jackson. “Our Board of Trustees has set such a high bar of excellence for our students, and we are blessed that they support us in all our educational endeavors. Our instructional staff and leaders are also laser-focused on  ensuring student excellence.” 

As a finalist, La Porte ISD will receive $5,000; the statewide winner in the small district category will receive $50,000.  

To determine the statewide winner, a panel of judges will tour each finalist’s district to engage with administration, staff, parents, and community members. Winners in all categories will be announced at the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards ceremony on May 5 at the Marriott Marquis in Houston.