WO - Container

Top Header

News Details

Adam J. Holland


The La Porte Education Foundation awarded 97 grants to teachers and administrators in La Porte ISD on November 17 totaling $101,515 to fund innovative classroom projects. 


The La Porte Education Foundation's Dollar Patrol, which is comprised of foundation members, donors, school district officials, and community members, traveled to all the campuses in the district to award grants to teachers.  

Grants awarded for the 2022-23 school year will be used to purchase some of the following items: 3-D printers, educational games, licenses for educational apps, robotics sets, and books for classroom libraries. 

“Everyone at the La Porte Education Foundation looks forward to the Dollar Patrol.  We call it Super Thursday. The excitement that you witness on the faces of the teachers and students when the grants are awarded brings such a feeling of happiness.  None of it would have been possible without the continued support of our donors. We appreciate them so much,” La Porte Education Foundation Executive Director Charlotte Pennye said.   

Campuses in the district received these cumulative grant total amounts: 


  • Administration   $7,954.16 

  • James H. Baker Sixth Grade Campus $16,020.29 

  • Bayshore Elementary $5,830.00 

  • College Park Elementary $11,013.80 

  • Academy of Viola DeWalt High School $9,266.31 

  • Heritage Elementary $11,653.77 

  • Jennie Reid Elementary $1,522.41 

  • La Porte Elementary $1,793.67 

  • La Porte High School $6,725.93 

  • La Porte Junior High School  $3,261.00 

  • Lomax Elementary  $6,600.81 

  • Lomax Junior High School  $12,273.62 

  • Leo A. Rizzuto Elementary $1,150.41   

  • Special Programs   $6,448.41 

In addition to the grants awarded on the Dollar Patrol, $55,229 has been awarded for special grants for large-scale district or classroom projects for this school year. 

Since 1993, the La Porte Education Foundation has awarded more than $2.6 million in grants to teachers, counselors, and administrators in La Porte ISD for innovative educational projects. 

Each year, corporations, small businesses, and family foundations support the La Porte Education Foundation by participating in the Annual Partner Program. The Partner Program runs from August to July of each year. 

The corporations, foundations, and organizations that supported the La Porte Education Foundation through the 2021-22 Annual Partner Program were also recognized. 

The Albemarle Foundation and The Bill & Helen Crowder Foundation are Distinguished Level Sponsor.  Lubrizol is a Diamond Level Sponsor. Kaneka and Kuraray are Platinum Level Sponsors.   

The Dow Chemical Company, DuPont Bayport, Gulf Coast Educators Federal Credit Union, LyondellBasell, Mitsubishi Chemical America, Inc, and Nouryon are Gold Level Sponsors.  Foremark Performance Chemicals, Geon, INEOS ICAN, and Stephens are Silver Level Sponsors. Arkema, INEOS Olefins & Polymers USA, LLC, OxyChem,  and State Farm Insurance are Bronze Level Sponsors.