News Details

Adam Holland

Candace Pohl and Camilla Whitlock have been selected as La Porte ISD’s Secondary and Elementary Principal of the Year, respectively.

Pohl is principal of La Porte ISD Academy of Viola DeWalt High School; Whitlock is principal at College Park Elementary School. This is the second time for both honorees to receive the award.

District administrators select honorees based on several criteria, including a multitude of attributes that contribute to staff and student success.

“We are thrilled to honor Mrs. Pohl and Mrs. Whitlock as the La Porte ISD Region 4 Principal Recognition recipients,” said Deputy Superintendent Dr. Linda Wadleigh. “These dedicated leaders work cooperatively with all staff and administrative colleagues, and they are committed to continuous improvement efforts that support student performance. We admire their concern for and inspiration of all students and staff and appreciate the positive impact they have made on their respective campuses.”

Pohl began teaching in 2006 and became a principal at La Porte Jr. High School in 2015, where she was named 2016-17 La Porte ISD Secondary Principal of the Year. She holds a master’s degree in education administration from Lamar University and is currently working on her doctorate at Sam Houston State University.

Whitlock has been a public educator for 31 years, including the past 19 in La Porte ISD. She was previously principal at James H. Baker Sixth Grade Campus and has served at the College Park helm for six years. She was La Porte ISD’s elementary principal of the year in 2016- 17. Whitlock did her undergraduate and graduate studies at the University of Houston – Clear Lake.