News Details

Adam Holland

Melissa Pavlowich, a third-grade teacher at Lomax Elementary School, and Jaime Arizpe, social studies teacher and coach at La Porte High School were named the 2021-22 District Teachers of the Year at the May 18 La Porte ISD Service Awards celebration at Bulldog Centre.

Superintendent Dr. Walter Jackson announced their selection following recognition of all La Porte ISD Campus Teachers of the Year.

Pat Studdert of Buffalo Marine Service, Inc., former La Porte ISD trustee and longtime friend of the district, presented each of the District Teachers of the Year with a check for $6,000.

Prior to the announcement of the district Teachers of the Year, principals escorted their respective campus Teachers of the Year to the stage as brief bios on each were read.

Other elementary honorees and their respective schools are:
Michelle Gilchrist, Bayshore Elementary
Zaibu Ali, College Park Elementary
Tracey Guidry, La Porte Elementary
Jessica Woolard, Jennie Reid Elementary
Rhonda Lopez, Leo A. Rizzuto Elementary
Marci Traylor, Heritage Elementary

Other secondary honorees are:
Shari Matteson, James H. Baker Sixth Grade
Laurie Burns, La Porte Jr. High
Amy Black, Secondary DAEP
Megan Smith, Lomax Jr. High
Jimmy Beasley, Academy of Viola DeWalt
Carolina Rodriguez, La Porte High School (non-core areas)

Gerius Roman, a math teacher at James H. Baker Sixth Grade Campus, was announced as the district’s Rookie Teacher of the Year. Donna Spaugh, Bayshore Elementary principal, and Carlin Grammer, La Porte High School principal, were honored as elementary and secondary Principal of the Year, respectively.