La Porte Independent School District

Skip to main content

Call for nominations: 2019 Distinguished Alumni and Citizens Awards

La Porte ISD will pay tribute to alumni and community members who serve as models to inspire and challenge today’s students through this program. Nomination forms are available on the LPISD website, or at the LPISD Administration Building, 1002 San Jacinto.

The Distinguished Alumni Award is open to any individual who graduated from La Porte High School, Viola DeWalt High School or George Washington Carver High School no fewer than 10 years prior to the nomination.  The Distinguished Alumni Award also is open to individuals who were employed by LPISD or who served on the LPISD Board of Trustees.

Awards for alumni will be given for achievement in various fields of service which include, but are not limited to, the arts, athletics, business, education, entertainment, law, medicine, the military, music, philanthropy, politics, public service, religion, scholarship, and science.

A Distinguished Citizen Award recipient must be a resident or work within La Porte ISD or have made a significant impact on La Porte ISD. A recipient must be distinguished in his or her business, profession, life work or other worthy endeavors, and must be an individual of such integrity, stature and demonstrated ability that the award will reflect honor on the school district and create a sense of pride among the members of the community.

Recipients of the awards will be selected by a committee of campus and district, business and industry, and community representatives.

A complete description of the awards program is included in the bylaws of the program, which are also available on the LPISD website or at the Administration Building.  Nominations may be made by any person other than a member of the Awards Committee.   

Nomination forms and back-up materials may be taken or mailed to the LPISD Administration Building or submitted electronically to Nominations must be received no later than 5 p.m. Friday, March 8, 2019.