La Porte Independent School District

Skip to main content

Bulldog distance runners bring home big awards

The varsity girls bested second-place Pasadena Memorial by 19 points, while the junior varsity squad won the district meet by five.  The JV team also won its seventh straight district title.

“The girls went out there expecting nothing less than giving their best,” head coach Carolina Rodriguez said. “They raced with heart & determination and came out champions in both varsity and JV divisions while running personal bests.”

In garnering a second place finish in district, Ryan Schoppe had the boys’ best three-mile meet time of 15:12, while Brandon Large snagged a bronze medal with a time of 15:56. This marks the eighth year in a row that the boys team has secured a berth in the regional meet.

“I am very proud of the boys for the crazy season we have had,” said Zach Johnson, the boys’ head coach. “They have literally run through it all this year, hurricanes included.”


Girls Cross Country Results

Varsity (individual): Allison Alvarez 3rd, Ciera Luna 4th, Lauryn LeGrand 5th, Nina Munoz 11th, Aihlin Trevino 12th, Kendall Boutte 18th, Izihrie Mark 31st. 

Team Results

35           La Porte          
54           Pasadena Memorial
88           Rayburn
113         Dobie
117         Deer Park
138         S. Houston
171         Westbrook
211         Pasadena

Junior Varsity (individual): Kayln Holloway 2nd, Iza Hernandez 3rd, Julia Garza 7th, Elena Mendiola 8th, Natalee Bergeron 9th, Alexa Lopez 31st, Madison Blanton 45th, Jessica Cruz 56th, Gabby Luna 76th.

Team Results

29           La Porte
34           Pasadena Memorial
87           Deer Park
101         Pasadena
135         S. Houston
156         Dobie
203         Rayburn
245         Westbrook

Boys Cross Country Results (individual)

Varsity: 1st Ryan Schoppe, 15:12; 3rd Brandon Large, 15:56; 15th Tony Munoz, 16:42; 23rd Nick Gracia 17:02; 25th William Menefee, 17:04; 27th Tyler Large, 17:09; 28th Rowdy Menefee, 17:09

The boys’ JV team finished third out of the eight team district. Following are runners who competed in that race:

Antonio Aguilara
David Ayers
Andrew Cornett
Isaac Escoto
Aaron Garza
Lucas Gurerro
Jacob Hernandez
Tyler Luckenbaugh
Cameron O'Donel
Isaac Ramirez
Adrian Rodriguez
Francisco Rodriguez
Alfredo Sanchez
Mathew Silva
Isaac Turcios
Travis Vargo
Austin Ware
Alviery Yanez
Kevin Yanez
Andrew Thomas
Allen Rios