La Porte Independent School District

Skip to main content

La Porte volleyball players honored for 2016 success

Miranda Solis and Kaylee Torres garnered first team recognition; Emilee Anderson and Haven Stewart grabbed spots on 22-6A’s Second Team.

Honorable Mention honors went to Brookelyn Hatton, Savanah Rose, Tayler Timmons and Brynn Williams.

For its efforts, the 2016 varsity team enjoyed one of its best seasons in recent memory, including the first playoff appearance in four years, according to Head Coach Sarah Agular.

“This team has been like a family,” Aguilar said. “I couldn’t have asked for a better group of coaches and players. I’m proud of our progress this year.”

2016 Academic All-District
Emilee Anderson
Kaitlyn Gilmer
Calli Gipson
Brianna Oliver
Savannah Rose
Tayler Timmons
Kaylee Torres
Miranda Solis
Brynn Williams
Samantha Villarreal

2016 Team Awards
Most Valuable Player – Miranda Solis
Most Improved Player – Brookelyn Hatton
Most Inspirational Player – Emilee Anderson
Best Defensive Player – Emilee Anderson
Best Offensive Player – Savannah Rose
Lady Dawg Award – Brynn Williams